The very first thing you’ll want to do is pull up your Natal Chart. There are various places to do this on the internet. | | time passages app

Note that there are various House Systems. I recommend using EQUAL HOUSES, but trust your instincts. Once you have the basics down, you can play around. You may find you prefer PLACIDUS or KOCH.

Once you have your chart, you can start filling in the empty chart we have made available for you to download and print.


As you can see, all Natal Charts consist of a 360 degree wheel. This is a snapshot of the sky the moment you were born. The wheel is divided into 12 pie slices. Each of these pie slices is a House. There are 12 Houses just as there are 12 Zodiac Signs. (Note: I use Equal Houses, which means that each of these Houses is equidistant).

Danielle Beinstein - Introduction to Astrology | Module 2: Natal Chart

The FIRST HOUSE begins with the Ascendant. The Ascendant is located at 9’o’clock. The sign on your First House is your Ascendant or Rising Sign. This means that your Second House will be the following sign and your Third House, the sign after. Meaning, the signs always go in the same order. So, if you are a TAURUS RISING, that means your Second House will be in GEMINI and your Third House will be in CANCER. And, so on. Whereas if you are a CAPRICORN RISING, your Second House will be in AQUARIUS and your Third House will be in PISCES. Again, I use Equal Houses. Other House Systems will create intercepted Houses, but why make things difficult and complicated when they don’t need to be? In truth, I find Equal Houses to be more accurate.

The ASCENDANT or RISING SIGN is our public persona. It’s how we present to the world. Often, I find this sign will be either reflective of a parent or the opposite. Meaning, if our mother has a VIRGO Sun or Moon, even, we may have VIRGO Rising, learning how to be in the world from her essence. Or conversely, as a reaction formation, we may have PISCES Rising (Pisces being opposite Virgo). This is certainly not always the case, but I see it enough that it warrants a mention.

What is my Ascendant/Rising Sign?

Opposite the ASCENDANT is the DESCENDANT. The DESCENDANT, therefore, is located at 3’o’clock. The DESCENDANT is also the sign that opens our SEVENTH HOUSE.

Now let’s look at the overall impressions, general themes of the chart. It’s so important to start with this, otherwise we can get lost in the weeds.


Danielle Beinstein - Introduction to Astrology | Module 2: Natal Chart

In the 1st Quadrant, we find the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Houses. This is the Quadrant of Personal Development.

In the 2nd Quadrant, we find the 4th, 5th, and 6th Houses. This is the Quadrant of Expression.

In the 3rd Quadrant, we find the 7th, 8th, and 9th Houses. This is the Quadrant of Interpersonal Relationships.

In the 4th Quadrant, we find the 10th, 11th, and 12th Houses. This is the Quadrant of Transpersonal Experience.


Danielle Beinstein - Introduction to Astrology | The Four Quadrants

The Southern Hemisphere (The Top Half | Houses 7 through 12) deals with the External World. It’s more extroverted, learning from its engagement with the world.

The Northern Hemisphere (The Bottom Half | Houses 1 through 6) deals with the Internal World. It’s more introverted, observing and acting from inner development.

The Eastern Hemisphere (The Left Half | Houses 1, 2, 3 and 10, 11, 12) is self-directed energy. These are proactive, go getter types, by and large.

The Western Hemisphere (The Right Half | Houses 4, 5, 6 and 7, 8, 9) is more other focused energy. This energy tends to be shaped more by their surroundings and the people they encounter.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS | Learning to trust your intuition

Whenever I look at a chart, this is the first thing I note attention to. Where is the energy located? That leads me to a general understanding of the individual before I get to the more technical aspects of planets, signs, aspects, and specific house placement.

The second thing I take into account is the Rising or Ascendant sign, its ruler (so for example, if the Ascendant is in LEO, the ruler is the SUN), the sign, and placement (meaning the House) of this planet or luminary. The general description of the signs and their ruler can be found in the SIGNS section.

Astrological readings are not just a science, they’re also an art because it’s up to the interpreter. Follow your intuitive hunch. Look at where the energy is. What does it reveal?

Next, we'll look at the overall focus of the ELEMENTS and the QUALITIES:

Danielle Beinstein - Introduction to Astrology | Elements

The ELEMENT reveals one nature of the energy. Fire signs tend to act on instinct. Earth signs tend to be more practical and tactile. Air signs focus on the mind and the ethers. And Water is more emotional and intuitive. Earth and Water are Feminine, meaning more receptive. Air and Fire are Masculine, meaning they’re more assertive.

Danielle Beinstein - Introduction to Astrology | Qualities

The QUALITY reveals another nature of the energy. Cardinal energy tends to be a little controlling, as it likes to initiate. Fixed energy tends to be more dominating and determined, seeing things through to the end. Mutable energy is more flexible and adaptable, less rigid and able to go with the flow.


When looking at my (or if you’re working with someone else’s chart), my first impressions are as follows..

Number of FIRE planets:

Number of EARTH planets:

Number of AIR planets:

Number of WATER planets:

  1. Taking this all in, what does this reveal about my chart?

    Number of planets in Cardinal:

    Number of planets in Fixed:

    Number of planets in Mutable:

  2. What does this reveal about my chart?

  3. Taking the Hemispheric focus, Elements and Qualities into account what do I see?

All content and intellectual property © owned by DANIELLE BEINSTEIN

For inquiries, please email

Please note that access to this course is monitored by IP Address.

Any unauthorized access or copyright infringement will result in legal action.